Golden Dung Fly

Golden Dung Fly Cannon River Wilderness Area March 28, 2012
Golden Dung Fly
Cannon River Wilderness Area
March 28, 2012

When I encountered this fly earlier this year, I was astonished by its color and its lavish and outlandish spines, almost like quills on its back. I also thought it must be a robber fly, because of the way it perched and the way it was hunting smaller flies. Zooming in on the photographs, later, revealed a truly strange and fantastic creature. A little research on the web quickly dispelled any niceties I had imagined, especially as this bug’s truly humble origin was revealed…its larvae ate dung. This was not a robber fly but a Golden Dung Fly (Scathophaga stercoraria). If I had known right off what I was looking at, I may not have stopped to watch it so closely or taken the time to get a photo. As it stands, I learned something about looking without judgment, and the reward of holding to simple, unblinkered wonder. Which is why I’ve chosen it as avatar for this blog.

Golden Dung Fly Cannon River Wilderness Area March 28, 2012
Golden Dung Fly
Cannon River Wilderness Area
March 28, 2012
Leave a Reply

